Posted in romance

Frosted by MC Frank

Image courtesy of Goodreads

Plot Summary:

Can two people hate each other more than these two? She has a heart of stone. He is the notorious pirate every lady swoons for. They have vowed never to meet again.

Captain Timothée Vaughn
Heart: Broken
Face: Gorgeous
Tone: Acidic
Pirate: Yes, he is
Marital Status: Forced into an engagement
Willing to: Break his own arm to escape his wedding tomorrow.

Lady Stella DeWinter:
Heart: Frosted
Face: Angelic but sad
Tone: Silent
Secrets: Many, but one in particular. A very dark one indeed.
Marital Status: Jilted Captain Vaughn right before their wedding, five years ago.
Willing to: Do anything to meet Timothée one last time.

Question: Why? (on earth)

Meeting place: The Frosted Ball.

What follows: Chaos. Noisy ballrooms. Starry skies. White flurries. Hungry kisses. Haughty stares. Frozen lakes. Shaking breaths. The truth. Finally.

Frosted is a heart-wrenching romance about a pirate and an ice-cold lady who seem to have hated each other for years, inspired by winter-themed fairytales like The Snow Queen and The Steadfast Tin Soldier. It is set in a witty, glittering Regency world made up of a little bit of Jane Austen, a little bit of Georgette Heyer, and a lot of a modern heart yearning for romance, passion and a tall gentleman with a smoldering gaze. This is a broken tale of beauty, dark secrets and love lost (Goodreads, 2021).

Things I Enjoyed: Though no time period was specifically mentioned throughout this book, this struck me as a great example of a Regency romance. As I am a fan of period fashion and architecture, I loved the descriptions of the manors and mansions in this book as well as the outfits worn by the various characters. I also thought that the references to the Greek revolution were a nice nod to the author’s heritage.

In terms of the plot, I really liked how this story was inspired by Jane Austen’s novel Persuasion. Persuasion is my favorite of the Austen romances and I think it is highly underrated so I enjoyed seeing how it influenced this book particularly in regards to the main characters being separated by misunderstood circumstances.

Overall, I thought the plot was very well developed focusing primarily on the story of two lovers torn apart and then forced back together seemingly by fate. I found myself hooked from the first few pages by the author’s incredible use of language I spent the first few chapters of Frosted trying to figure out what tore Stella and Vaughn apart and the rest hoping that they would find a happily ever after. These two were clearly made for each other and it was hard to see them forced apart.

Things I Didn’t Enjoy: My one complaint about this book is that at times the story got a bit overdramatic especially when it came to Vaughn. His constant attempts to get killed could get to be too much at times.

Overall Thoughts: A 4 out of 5 star read for me. This was a very enjoyable historical romance that is perfect for fans of Jane Austen.

Quotes I Enjoyed:

The sudden urge to force some emotion out of her, anything, be it sadness, shame, remorse, anger, seized him… He still remembered when he had heard the whispers first, what they were all saying about her. The need to run to her, to protect her, to save her, had stolen his breath

That’s how you know a devil of a man, Harriet would say. Voice like soft velvet, and before you know it, they’re having you agreeing to a thing you never thought you’d agree to

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s